Fifty and Fabulous

The thoughts, loves, rants, interests & inspirations for Gen X


Leave a comment

Book Review – Single For The Summer by Mandy Baggot

Tabytha Reviews…

Single for the Summer by Mandy Baggot

 

Here’s the official blurb;

***The go-to book for the summer, from everyone’s favourite getaway Queen, Mandy Baggot!***

Tess Parks has made up her mind: love isn’t for her.

When it comes to dating she has one rule: after six weeks with a guy, she ends it. So when her heartbroken best friend invites her for a girly getaway in Corfu, Tess is sure she can stick to their pact to stay single for the summer.

But then she meets the gorgeous restaurateur Andras…

To keep his overbearing mother off his back, Tess agrees to pretend to date him. But as the two spend time together, Tess begins to realise that this fake relationship is starting to feel like the best one she’s ever had…

A feel-good escapist beach read set against a beautiful Greek island backdrop. From the award-winning author of Truly, Madly Greekly and Those Summer Nights.

 

I Read It: 4th – 5th August 2017

Which Format: Kindle

Approx Length: 432 pages

My Goodreads Rating:  5 Stars

Single for the Summer is a stand-alone, contemporary romance book, a real happily ever after chick-lit summer read.

So, what kept me reading?

I am already a fan of Ms Baggot’s writing style; I love how easy to read her stories are, the way she weaves her plots, her inclusion of popular culture references, the humour and banter that is ever present and how she creates her characters, making them feel so real. Single for the Summer did not disappoint.

In this book I have to say that I loved Sonya; what a great character! I found her intelligent, funny, kind and caring; she was a wonderful presence, a great supporting character and contrast to our leading lady, Tess.  Our leading man, Andras, is one Greek god of a specimen; hunky, funny, considerate and a loyal family man – be still my beating heart. Can’t talk about characters without mentioning Hector, the escapologist, I loved that tortoise! What a unique addition to the story. So c’mon Mandy, how did Hector keep escaping his pen?

I loved the many amazing, beautiful and engaging descriptions throughout this book of all things Greek; the countryside, the food, the people and the customs. I felt transported to Corfu.  Your love of the island permeates every page, Mandy.

I experienced many emotions while reading this story; I cried, I laughed, I rolled my eyes and I even growled a couple of times. Lol! In other words this contemporary romance is a real page turner – it kept me gripped.

 

So, were there any downsides?

Now, I must be honest and confess that I found it very difficult to like a couple of characters in this story; our main character, Tess Parks and Isadora, Andras’ mother.

To begin with, I couldn’t stand Tess. It took until I was about a third of the way into the book and we learned a little bit about her past to allow me to understand her behaviour somewhat.

I was also very shocked and frustrated with Isadora’s behaviour throughout this book; her actions towards Tess and Sonya were polar-opposite to the Greek/Corfiot hospitality that I’ve heard about. I’m not letting Marietta off the hook lightly either…

Having said that, I know that this reaction is probably exactly what Ms Baggot was looking for; obstacles to overcome, characters to evolve, hidden reasons to be revealed…

 

In a nutshell…

I stayed up past midnight to finish this book, couldn’t stop reading – loved it. Single for the Summer is a stand-alone, contemporary romance book with Ms Baggot’s signature happily ever after ending; it’s a story of friendship, relationships and family, a wonderful journey full of laughter, tears and, of course, lots of love. If you enjoyed the ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ films, this book will be right up your street.

 

Links to be helpful:

Visit MANDY BAGGOT’s own website

See SINGLE FOR THE SUMMER on Goodreads.com

Buy SINGLE FOR THE SUMMER on Amazon.co.uk


Leave a comment

Book Review “Those Summer Nights” by Mandy Baggot

Tabytha Reviews…

Those Summer Nights by Mandy BaggotThose Summer Nights

by Mandy Baggot

 

I Read it: 4th – 7th August 2016

In This Format: Kindle

Approx Length: 375 Pages

I Gave It a Goodreads Rating of: 5 Stars

 

…So what’s this book about?

So, “Those Summer Nights” is a stand-alone, contemporary romance book; a real happily ever after chick-lit summer read.  The blurb says:

“Sunshine, soft white sand and a sizzling hot millionaire – you don’t get trouble in paradise, right?

Imogen Charlton is sorted. Dead-beat husband? History. Dream job? Application sent. But then her impulsive brother, Harry, spends every last penny on a Greek restaurant in Corfu, and is determined to run it himself. It’s up to Imogen to bring him to his senses.

When sexy millionaire Panos Dimitriou offers to buy back his family taverna, Imogen wonders if all her prayers have been answered (and all her fantasies about to come true). But Harry won’t budge, and his enthusiasm is infectious.

Bright pink bougainvillea tumbling over whitewashed walls, endless blue skies, the sparkling Mediterranean; it’s hard not to fall for Corfu. And that’s not all Imogen is falling for…

As the sparks of passion fly between Imogen and Panos, is Imogen having second thoughts on selling the restaurant? And will she have to choose between love and a new dream?

This summer, spend long sunny days on the beach, and balmy nights in Greek tavernas on the gorgeous island of Corfu. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Miranda Dickinson and Lindsey Kelk.”

…So, what did I like about it?

As my existing followers will already know, I am a fan of Mandy Baggot’s writing style; I find her books well written, easy to read with an engaging plot and always give me that warm happily ever after feeling. This latest novel was no exception.

Although this story’s timeline is a little over a week, the progression never felt rushed, with various story aspects and character “secrets/history” being revealed over time. I knew that the story would end happily (it’s a Mandy Baggot trademark!) but it did keep me guessing as to how it was going to get there.

This romantic tale did make me laugh, I chuckled out loud quite a bit, it also made me cry and the sexual anticipation between our main characters, Imogen and Panos certainly got me hot under the collar more times than I care to share with you here. 😉  I loved Panos’ mother, Elpida Dimitriou, what an amazing, formidable but completely lovable woman! In fact, all of the characters felt real to me. I loved the cameo link to Ms Baggot’s previous romance “Truly, Madly, Greekly” and although I’ve still never been to Corfu, Ms Baggot’s wonderful descriptive talents once again, transported me there with ease!

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

No. Not a thing!

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

I loved this well written story and in short there wasn’t any part of this contemporary romance tale that I didn’t enjoy. It made me chuckle out loud and shed quite a few tears. Oh, and the addition of those Greek recipes at the back – what a stroke of genius! Now we can all have a bit of Corfu in our homes. 😉

Faery Red LilyIf you’re a fan of summer romance stories then I think you should buy this one; it’s a perfect read for those lazy days sat on a beach or by the pool while on holiday, although, I’m sure it could turn a drab, grey day into a little ray of sunshine too.

 

As I live in England, here’s a link to buy this book from Amazon UK 

If you are interested in other books by this author, you can check out Mandy Baggot’s Website

Or, if you’re interested, you can see what else I have been reading on My Goodreads Profile